A FORM OF MORNING PRAYER

A FORM OF MORNING PRAYER

God of my life, I welcome
this new day.
It is your gift to me, a new creation,
a promise of resurrection.

I thank you for the grace of being alive this morning.
I thank you for the sleep that has refreshed me.
I thank you for this chance to make a new beginning.

This day, Lord,
is full of promise and opportunity:
let me waste none of it.
This day is full of mystery
and the unknown:
help me to face it without
fear or anxiety.
This day is blessed with
beauty and adventure:
make me fully alive to it all.

During this day
keep me thoughtful,
prayerful and kind.
May I be courteous and
helpful to others,
and not turned in on myself.
Keep me from any word or deed
that would hurt, or
belittle, or destroy;
and may the thoughts of my mind
be pleasing in your sight.

When night comes again,
may I look back on this day with no
grievance or bitterness in my heart;
and may nobody be unhappy because
of anything I have done or anything I have
failed to do. Lord, bless this day for me and
for everyone. Make it a day in which we grow
to have the mind of Christ, your Son.

Lord Jesus Christ, friend and brother,
may we know you more clearly,
love you more dearly, and follow
you more nearly, day by day. Amen

This entry was posted in Catholic, Faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment